Maria Riesch wins Overall

March 21st, 2011

Riesch gets her wish as final race is cancelled

It has been a very long season with many highs and some lows for Maria Riesch. In the end she recovered her confidence when it counted and in the closest finish since Anja Paerson beat Janica Kostelic in 200X, Maria Riesch is the 2010 – 2011 FIS Alpine World Cup Overall winner, by just three points from Lindsey Vonn. A HEAD one two in the Overall standings with Lizz Goergl in fourth!

While the decision to cancel the race was not overly popular with the racers, there was nothing the FIS jury could do about the conditions: “We don’t have any base, just two or three centimetres of surface crust then sugar snow and nothing,” said Women’s World Cup Chief Race Director Atle Skaardal after days of warm temperatures and rain in the area. “It is very disappointing to end it this way.”

Having finished second for the last two years Maria Riesch was delighted to have made the top step and won. "I'm really, really happy finally to have won," Riesch told the Associated Press. "I had such a great season. Of course, Lindsey would also have deserved it but she won it the last three years and now it is my turn - finally. It was a really tight race. At the end you need some luck as well, and I had this luck."

Lindsey Vonn was naturally very disappointed not to have been able to defend her Overall Title, "Win or lose I just wanted the chance. I feel devastated," said Vonn of the lost race. "The cancellation of this race doesn't just hurt me; it hurts the fans and the sport of ski racing as a whole." Afterwards she added: "Maria had an outstanding season and again proved to be my biggest competitor. She's worked really hard for this. I'm happy for her and every athlete who stood on the top step this season."

This wraps up a hugely successful season for the HEAD racers with the following Globes having been won by HEAD racers:

Overall: Maria Riesch (GER) HEAD
Downhill: Lindsey Vonn (USA) HEAD
Super G: Lindsey Vonn (USA) HEAD
Super Combined: Lindsey Vonn (USA) HEAD

Downhill: Didier Cuche (SUI) HEAD
Super G: Didier Cuche (SUI) HEAD
Giant Slalom: Ted Ligety (USA) HEAD

HEAD: Winners of seven of the twelve Globes on the FIS Alpine World Cup