Fenninger wins in Lienz for second time!

December 28th, 2013

Anna Fenninger won a World Cup race on December 28th for the third time in her career in winning the Giant Slalom in Lienz, Austria. Having trailed Jessica Lindell-Vikarby by just two hundredths of a second on the first run, Fenninger produced a super impressive second run to take the lead and keep it. Lindell-Vikarby took second ahead of Mikaela Shiffrin who had overtaken Kathrin Zettel after the first run.

Fenninger won the Lienz Giant Slalom two years ago, and the Semmering race as well last year and now has four World Cup wins in Giant Slalom in her career. After the intense first run pressure that saw the first three racers separated by just four hundredths of a second, it was the HEAD World Cup Rebel that pushed it to the limit to take the win.

After the race Fenninger explained “Of course I love Lienz, I don’t feel like anything special on this day, the 28th of December, but I had good memories from two years ago and last year in Semmering. It was just a good feeling, and I tried to see positives in all the people cheering on.”

With so many speed races on the programme, Fenninger was happy to have completed two days of training before heading to Lienz: “We had not that much (GS) training with all the speed races, but now I had two training days before the race. I didn’t know how good I am or that I could win, I just tried to have really good memories,” she added.

With there having been fresh snow recently in Lienz, the hard injected snow caused trouble for a number of racers. The conditions were certainly hard yet when the going gets tough, the tough get going and that is exactly what Anna Fenninger did on the second run to take the win. Fenninger was surprised as to how good the piste was she declared after the race.

Despite winning Fenninger is holding her cards close to her chest in terms of looking at the race for the Overall. Fenninger has moved up to second in the race for the Overall and is fourth in the Giant Slalom standings.

1. Anna Fenninger (AUT) HEAD
2. Jessica Lindell-Vikarby (SWE)
3. Mikaela Shiffrin (USA)
15. Maria Hoefl-Riesch (GER) HEAD
25. Anne-Sophie Barthet (FRA) HEAD
29. Julia Mancuso (USA) HEAD