Ligety underlines why he is Mr GS

December 2nd, 2012

Ligety makes it two from two with commanding win in Beaver Creek

His rivals said that he was in sight after the first run yet by the time that the second run was over, the lead had grown to over one and three quarters of a second. Ted Ligety, HEAD World Cup Rebel and Mr. Giant Slalom was in awesome and commanding form in the World Cup Giant Slalom at Beaver Creek. This was a crushing demonstration of Giant Slalom technique and power.
Ligety at first did not look to happy with his first run yet as each racer failed to even get close to his time he commented “It was a good one for sure. I am surprised by the margin. It was tough today, the snow was not super easy so I am psyched with the win!”
After the first run the lead was 0.78 to second place. Yet further down the field the gaps were closer. Down in seventeen spot after the first run, Aksel Lund Svindal had been a little out of sorts. His second run was something else. Using his power and strength the HEAD World Cup rebel powered his way down to take the lead. Svindal’s lead held all the way up to the last five racers.

By the time Ted Ligety blasted out of the start gate, it was Marcel Hirscher leading in the finish ahead of Davide Simoncelli. Ligety gave another master class of Giant Slalom ski racing to extend the lead to over one and three quarter seconds. Can he go faster he was asked? “I don’t know, it’s really hard to say – I don’t really know if I can go any faster, but we will see, I definitely will try to.”

The rest of the field will have to raise their game to catch Mr. Giant Slalom.

Aksel Lund Svindal held on to take sixth just ahead of Kjetil Jansrud who was tied for seventh. Having just squeezed into the top thirty for the second run, Gauthier de Tessieres, Matthias Mayer and Marcel Mathis all made good use of their second runs to finish in 20th, 16th and joint 17th; Mayer coming from start number 55 on the first run.

1. Ted Ligety (USA) HEAD
2. Marcel Hirscher (AUT)
3. Davide Simoncelli (ITA)
6. Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR) HEAD
7=. Kjetil Jansrud (NOR) HEAD
16. Matthias Mayer (AUT) HEAD
17=. Marcel Mathis (AUT) HEAD
20 Gauthier de Tessieres (FRA) HEAD
28. Mathieu Faivre (FRA) HEAD