Ligety takes second place in Super Combi in Kitzbuehel

January 26th, 2014

It was a unique occasion the Super Combined in Kitzbuehel: Usually it is the combined times of the full length Downhill and the two runs of the Slalom. 2014 saw the race run over a shortened Super G and one run of Slalom. This meant, many believed, that it was advantage to the technical skiers over the speed skiers. Ted Ligety overcame the disappointment of being outside the top 30 from the Super G to fight back into second and for a moment Bode Miller stood on the podium before it was deemed that he had not taken the fifth last gate from home correctly. The HEAD World Cup Rebels were certainly pushing it to the limit!

Miller was the fastest of the racers that were doing both legs of the Super Combined to take to the slalom and although he lost time to Alexis Pinturault and Ted Ligety, Miller held his own in the slalom. The disqualification meant that Marcel Hirscher, way off the pace in the Super G and going 34th in the slalom took third overall.

“My slalom run was OK, it was sure better than in the classic slalom race,” said Ligety, adding “The crowd is great, there are not many places where you can attract a crowd like this one on a Sunday night.” Ligety managed to post a faster time than Hirscher in the Slalom as he looked to stay ahead of the Austrian.

There was more success for the HEAD World Cup Rebels as Kjetil Jansrud and Jared Goldberg pushed things to the limit to place tenth and eleventh in the race overall and Matthias Mayer placed 14th: “"Alberto Tomba, I will be no more. For a downhill course setting it was quite fair, but as the slope diminishes, makes it even more difficult for a racer like me."

With the two Super Combined races now having taken place, Ligety shares the lead in the discipline with Alexis Pinturault. Aksel Lund Svindal crashed out of the slalom section yet still leads the race for the Overall by 102 points over Marcel Hirscher. Ligety moves back up to fourth.

1. Alexis Pinturault (FRA)
2. Ted Ligety (USA) HEAD
3. Marcel Hirscher (AUT)
10. Kjetil Jansrud (NOR) HEAD
11. Jared Goldberg (USA) HEAD
14. Matthias Mayer (AUT) HEAD
25. Hans Olsson (SWE) HEAD
27. Andrew Weibrecht (USA) HEAD