Ligety wins for a historic sixth time in Kranjska Gora Giant Slalom

March 8th, 2014

No one had done it before but Ted Ligety, the HEAD World Cup Rebel, won for the sixth time the Kranjska Gora World Cup Giant Slalom. Others, including Aksel Lund Svindal have won five times the same discipline in the same resort, but Ted Ligety becomes the first man to win in the same resort six times with this win. Benni Raich and Henrik Kristofferson joined Ligety on the podium.

“This is definitely a really cool hill. It has so much personality and it’s really a fun hill to ski. It has the steep parts. It has some rolls. It has a little bit of a gliding section. So it’s a true GS skier’s hill,” Ligety explained after the race.

While Ligety posted an almost faultless first run to hold the lead the weather and snow conditions for the second run gave the racers problems as they fought to make the best time. Raich, interestingly a four-time winner in Kranjska Gora, had made the best of the conditions to hold the lead in the finish from a start of 17 on the second run when Ligety took to the course.

When Ligety made a noticeable mistake on the second run in the final section, the drama was raised a notch. The lead was over one and a half seconds before he started his run yet Ligety had enough in reserve to hold on for the win.

The win brings him closer to Marcel Hirscher in the race for the Giant Slalom Globe: the lead is down to fifty points with one race to go. “Now the GS title isn’t so far away, but it’s still kind of far away especially with the mistakes I’ve made so far this year. I’m just skiing race to race. You know, wins are always important even if they don’t go for the title,” Ligety said following the race.

Mathieu Faivre scored his second best World Cup result in coming seventh as five HEAD World Cup Rebels have qualified for the World Cup Finals in Giant Slalom: Ligety, Faivre, Aksel Lund Svindal, Bode Miller and Cyprien Richard.

With Marvel Hirscher finishing fourth, this helped Ligety to close in on the Giant Slalom leader and also means that Svindal retains a 41 point lead in the race for the Overall.

1. Ted Ligety (USA) HEAD
2. Benni Raich (AUT)
3. Henrik Kristofferson (NOR)
7. Mathieu Faivre (FRA) HEAD
17. Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR) HEAD
23. Marcel Mathis (AUT) HEAD
24= Bode Miller (USA) HEAD