Ligety and Miller steal the show in Beaver Creek
December 8th, 2013

Ted Ligety produced a master class to win the second Men’s Giant Slalom of the season in Beaver Creek. Bode Miller produced an outstanding race to place second from a start of 31 and take his first podium in Giant Slalom since March 2007, his 76th in all. Marcel Hirscher could only shrug his shoulders at the performance of the two HEAD World Cup Rebels as they destroyed the rest of the field. Mathieu Faivre produced a career best performance to date to take fourth.

This win by Ligety, fastest on both runs, means he has won the last four Giant Slaloms on the World Cup, the first man to do that in twenty two years! After the race Ligety reflected: “I feel like I skied well the whole way done considering the conditions are tough out there; it’s pretty bouncy. I was able to arch the places I needed to arch. I was a bit surprised by the time difference because with the snow conditions right now it’s not a feel-good course.”

Miller was in outstanding form and gave the crowd plenty to watch as he fought tooth and nail on the second run, on more than one occasion it looked like he would succumb to the onslaught from others but when he crossed the line at the bottom, not only was he ahead, he had extended his advantage! “My confidence had never been my issue but now I also have the fitness to back it up. I can go full speed right from the start and don’t have to worry,” Miller explained.

For Mathieu Faivre, improving from eighth after the first run to post fourth best at the end of the race, this was a career best to date performance for him.

This was the 19th time that Ligety has stood on the top step in a Giant Slalom World Cup race, third in the list of all time winners. Ligety leads the Giant Slalom standings with Miller fourth, Faivre fifth and Svindal sixth.

Svindal and Ligety are now one and two in the Overall.

The HEAD World Cup Rebels now head back to Europe to compete in Val d’Isere next week.

1. Ted Ligety (USA) HEAD
2. Bode Miller (USA) HEAD
3. Marcel Hirscher (AUT)
4. Mathieu Faivre (FRA) HEAD
11. Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR) HEAD
13. Cyprien Richard (FRA) HEAD
17. Kjetil Jansrud (NOR) HEAD