Jansrud and Svindal HEAD the field in Norway
March 4th, 2012

Jansrud and Svindal HEAD the Viking Success

Kjetil Jansrud knows the Olympiabakken slopes in Kvitfjell like “the back of my hand,” he says. Living just forty kilometres north of the slopes, this has been a great weekend for him. With two podiums and two fastest runs in the training runs leading up to the final race of the weekend, HEAD World Cup Rebel Jansrud did not want to leave the home slopes without the maiden first world cup win. And how! Jansrud destroyed the opening runners times and then opened up a huge margin, 1.42 seconds to second place. There would be no learning from a small error for the later runners in the race!

It has been fifteen years since a Norwegian had won on home snow and much was expected of fellow HEAD World Cup Rebel, Aksel Lund Svindal in the hunt to end the draught. Jansrud has been the hunter all week and two close calls, three hundredths faster on either day and he would have been on the winners stand each day, were not added to by a third.

It was not all plain sailing as with light snow falling and the slope starting to feel the wear and tear after four previous runs, Jansrud’s run was smooth and fast. When you know the slope, you know its subtleties and where you can make speed!

While Svindal looked to challenge his younger team mate, he made a small error and this was to give Jansrud the edge in the race for the line. With Svindal looking to add points for the Super G Globe, the wait was now on to see how Didier Cuche would get on. Cuche lost time on the top section of the course and from there it was catch up. Cuche placed sixth and for the second time in two days now has a significant deficit to win either the Downhill or Super G Globes.

With Beat Feuz adding more points for the Overall Globe with third place, the tech racers, including Ted Ligety are back in the hunt next week in Kranjska Gora with a Giant Slalom and a Slalom.

1. Kjetil Jansrud (NOR) HEAD
2. Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR) HEAD
3. Beat Feuz (SUI)
6. Didier Cuche (SUI) HEAD
10. Hans Olsson (SWE) HEAD
14. Gauthier de Tessieres (FRA) HEAD
15. Matthias Mayer (AUT) HEAD
17. Werner Heel (ITA) HEAD
22. Johan Clarey (FRA) HEAD
30. Bernhard Graf (AUT) HEAD